Update – Week 2 Beginning

Standard

We took a trip to Santa Fe this past week to pick up the pasture raised meat we buy from a farmer in West Texas.  It comes out to be ever, ever so much more nutritious than the meat we can buy at market, and even with the trip to Santa Fe it is considerably less expensive.  This time we brought home 82 pounds of meat and soup bones.

Because it is about two hours drive, and we have two small children and an infant, we prefer to stay the night,  take in the museums, and get the shopping done that we cannot do in Taos where we have only a small Walmart for most necessities.  This can pose a problem for a family that is working with severe diet restrictions, a budget and supplementation.  Sooo, we use an online booking site to score our favorite time-share hotel/condo.  The units come with a bedroom, full, stocked kitchen, dining table, and living room, for around $70 in the summer and $62 in the winter.  This allows us to prepare breakfast and dinner at our hotel and keep our food ready for packing a healthy, on the go lunch.

This time we opted for organic, homemade granola and plain yogurt with honey for breakfast so that we could just lounge in our PJs and have a lazy morning before taking in the town.  For lunch we had sliced Applegate Farms Peperoni, raw organic cheddar, rice crisp crackers, apples, and  oranges.  For snacks we had apples, oranges, dried figs, dried mango, raw almonds, pecans, peanuts and raisins.  Nichola had an extra snack of Wild Planet Sardines in marinara sauce and Quinn had the lemon variety.  They will each eat about 2/3 of a can and share some with Simone and Jeff.  Packed full of healthy omega fatty acids, and lacking in the mercury found in larger fish like tuna, this is a wonderful, not too expensive snack for them to be having.  I’ll be honest.  I can’t eat them straight.  Marinara sauce, or no, they wig me out.  I prefer to have them mixed in canola-free mayo with spices and served on crackers, just like tuna salad.

For dinner we took a jar of pre-soaked chickpeas and made soup.

Because of the fridge in the hotel (most come with at least a mini-fridge these days) we were able to take our cod liver oil, and I used my ceramic lidded coffee cup to take my tinctures through-out the day.  I found though that I only felt like I needed them once.   Sticking to “the rules” is helping a lot faster than I had expected.  I also noticed that the city water did a real number on the kid’s skin, and everyone developed a stuffy-head feeling as we entered the city that dissipated as we got about 45 minutes outside of the city on our way home.  I guess there really is something to say about clean country air and water.

Since we’ve been home I have only taken my tinctures in the morning and evening.  I’ve been going to bed by 10pm and waking up feeling a lot less achy.  Today I’m definitely feeling just plain tired, but altogether not “sick”.

I’m looking forward to homemade hot cocoa tonight and planning on a lazy night with a DVD (The Bucket List).  Neeka fell asleep (hopefully for the night) at 7pm.  She’s been fighting a bit of tonsilitis.  Here’s hoping that the baby will follow her by 8:30 and I can get to bed (post movie) by 10pm again.

To our health!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

